For the non Muslims

SweetAmirah

I am no scholar, and I am new to Islam (about a month)

But one of the biggest things that I like to discuss are in fact women's rights in Islam.

There are many questions I have received from friends and family members since my conversion and most of them have been related to this topic.

some of the main questions from people who know little about Islam were: "Won't your husband be oppressive, and isn't the hijab oppressive? wont your husband beat you?"

Please, ladies, know your rights in Islam! Men are not allowed to beat women in Islam. In fact IF they DO touch you, they can't even leave a mark on your skin, there should not even be a red mark (you know, that fades away in seconds)

The hijab is a woman's choice, it is not forced upon them. Anyone that forces their women to wear it is ruled by culture, and not by Islam.
Most women make the choice to wear hijab because it FREES them from oppression. Do you truly think a half naked woman sitting on a car to SELL the car is not oppression? Women being used as sexual objects? A woman in Hijab is looked at with the highest respect, and for her mind, and not her beauty.

About men being allowed 4 wives.Do you think a woman would really want four husbands? Would YOU want 4 husbands to take care of at the end of the day?! Its hard enough caring for one! (laundry, dinner, ETC)